Monday, August 26, 2019
Home LCK News 2018 KeSPA Cup schedule, format and teams announced

2018 KeSPA Cup schedule, format and teams announced

On 6th of December, KeSPA announced the schedule for 2018 KeSPA cup as well as the contending teams.

According to the official Facebook announcement by KeSPA, the end of the year tournament will be organized by KeSPA and exclusively broadcasted by SBS Afreeca TV.

Round 1 will be held in Actoz Arena, starting from 18th of December and running until the Christmas day. The six lowest performing teams at 2018 LCK Summer Split (SK Telecom T1, Gen.G, Jin Air Greenwings, Hanwha Life Esports, bbq OLIVERS, MVP), the eight teams of Challengers Korea Summer Split (RGA, GC Busan Rising Star, Team BattleComics, Damwon Gaming, ES Sharks, Winners, BRION Company, APK Prince) and first place team in Korea e-Sports Games (KeG Seoul) will play in single-elimination bracket of best of 3. Four teams from Round 1 will qualify to Round 2.

Round 2 will be held in Afreeca TV’s FreecUP Studio, starting from Boxing Day to New Year’s Eve. The four highest performing teams of 2018 LCK (KT Rolster, Afreeca Freecs, KING-ZONE Dragon X, Griffin) will be joined by four teams that qualified from Round 1. The Quarterfinals will be held in best of 3, and the Semifinals and the Finals will be held in best of 5.

The format of 2018 KeSPA cup. Source: KeSPA

The prize pool is around 100,000 USD in total. The first place team will be awarded KRW 40,000,000 (40,000 USD), with prize also distributed to follow-up teams and the tournament MVP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here